Read the krone experiment by J. Craig Wheeler Online

the-krone-experiment

This techno-thriller novel is set at the time of the break-up of the Soviet Union, yet reflects today's headlines. Damage to a Russian aircraft carrier leads to a breakdown in the detente with the United States. Star wars erupt as the two countries invoke space-based weapons in a deadly face off in orbit. Robert Issacs, Deputy Director of Scientific Intelligence for the CIThis techno-thriller novel is set at the time of the break-up of the Soviet Union, yet reflects today's headlines. Damage to a Russian aircraft carrier leads to a breakdown in the detente with the United States. Star wars erupt as the two countries invoke space-based weapons in a deadly face off in orbit. Robert Issacs, Deputy Director of Scientific Intelligence for the CIA, and his top aide, Dr. Patricia Danielson, connect the carrier damage with a mysterious seismic signal. Thwarted by internal CIA politics, they put their careers at risk to engage in an unauthorized consultation with Jason, the secret group of physicists who consult for the government. Astrophysicist Alex Runyan advances a fantastic theory that triggers a race for the truth before the conflict with Russia can spin out of control. The quest leads to the New Mexico laboratory of Paul Krone. The true danger dwarfs that posed by the international crisis. Bonus links to historical background material are provided at the end of the book. The Krone saga continues in the sequel, Krone Ascending, also available for Kindle....

Title : the krone experiment
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 16032842
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 362 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

the krone experiment Reviews

  • Jared Bennett
    2019-05-14 14:19

    Left me wanting more with every page! Dated but still excellent.

  • Shorel Kleinert
    2019-05-04 14:26

    Everyone compares it to Clancy and justifiably so. However the plot is original and well written.

  • Pedro
    2019-05-21 19:38

    Great story, gripping to the last page.

  • Mark
    2019-05-09 14:26

    In a word : brilliant!!

  • Timothy Haas
    2019-05-25 20:27

    Fast paced and well written. I enjoyed the action very much, especially the shuttle section.

  • D. E.
    2019-05-26 19:36

    A Novel of Nuclear Persuasion/The US; China and Russia Are InvolvedJCW has penned a very important piece of fiction that every leader in this country needs to read. A a is sensitive event happens underneath a Russian's Aircraft Carrier which happens to catch fire at that moment. The following events lead to a near full blown war. This is an excellent read for the genre.....ER

  • Mark
    2019-05-14 17:31

    Really interesting story. very good storytelling .

  • Stephanie
    2019-05-02 17:23

    I just reread The Krone Experiment because I had recommended it to my book club. I enjoyed it as much this time as I did the first time. I particularly like the way the characters are both believable and engaging. My book club kept wanting to classify this as a science fiction book (partly because they don't usually read science fiction and they were surprised how much they loved the book) but I thought of it as a techno-thriller or techno-mystery in the vein of Gibson or Clancy. I started the sequel Krone Ascending and it promises to be just as good. I could recommend either book for book clubs or just good reading. By the way, we were lucky enough to have Dr. Wheeler come to our book club so we got the inside scoop on the writing process. I'm not telling.

  • Tim
    2019-05-05 17:28

    Enjoyable book set in the cold war in the Tom Clancy mode. The Yankees and Soviets are at the brink of nuclear war and the hero of the book, a senior CIA officer, must try to work out what is really happening to save the world.Details: I picked up this book as it was written by an acquaintance of my wife's. That probably meant that my expectations were probably lower than normal, but this book exceeded them.It was fast-paced and well-researched. I like how this booked explore science theories (and I hate science), and fed them successfully into the plot without the science taking over. I loved the moment when the great idea was figured out - it really had me there.The Takeaway: If you like Tom Clancy pick this up. It add a little more science than Clancy usually does. Fun!

  • Vaidya
    2019-05-03 18:15

    Quite an interesting piece - set to cold war times & star wars (SDI) back drop. Several interesting elements ... I found it a rather good mix of plot, characters, context and story telling. You can tell the author is probably not a seasoned writer the way a Tom Clancy or Michael Crichton would be, but the # and variety of characters, barely enough character development etc. makes it readable. But talking of black holes as weapons was a bit too comical to make it believable, not withstanding the heavy dose of scientific jargon in the story.The ending was something I did not expect, but in retrospect, well thought of indeed. Good read all in all and I liked it!

  • Lawrence
    2019-05-15 14:14

    A Soviet aircraft carrier is severely damaged at the start of this story, pushing the USSR and US toward a nuclear showdown. As the two governments push steadily toward the brink of mutually assured destruction, continued investigation by the CIA deputy director of scientific intelligence leads to discovery of a cause that could be even more destructive and more inevitable. Can preventing a nuclear holocaust still leave you hopeless? Entertaining thriller for my geek, science side.

  • Anna
    2019-04-30 16:29

    Found this a very good book, but at times a bit too technical in what was going on. Also found it a little confusing at times when switching between characters. Very interesting olot and a great group of characters. This is one I would read again.

  • Bharat
    2019-05-07 16:27

    It's a very interesting premise. But suffers from lack of polish. There are some places where the transitions seem abrupt or the dialogue forced. I think it could have done with a good editor.

  • Robert William Saul Harvey
    2019-05-01 20:22

    Excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Raymond
    2019-05-14 13:10

    J. Craig Wheeler is my Astronomy prof. from UT Austin.